MS RESIDENTIAL HOME BUILDERS LICENSE
PROFILE OF A RESIDENTIAL BUILDER IN MISSISSIPPI
The Mississippi Code defines a Residential Builder” as “Any corporation, partnership or individual who constructs a building or structure for sale, for use by another as a residence or who, for a fixed price, commission, fee, wage or other compensation, undertakes or offers to undertake the construction, or superintending of the construction, of any building or structure which is not more than three (3) floors in height, to be used by another as a residence, when the cost of the undertaking exceeds Fifty Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00).”
In other words, if you are going to build a residence for someone else, the height of that residence is three floors or less, and the cost to build will exceed $50,000, you must possess a valid license as a Residential Builder issued by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors.
PROCESS TO BECOME A RESIDENTIAL BUILDER IN MISSISSIPPI
An applicant for a Residential Builder License is required to take and successfully pass the state’s approved Residential Builder Exam and its Business Law Exam. Prior to being allowed to take either exam, an applicant must show proof of a valid Federal Employment Identification number (FEID) and workers’ compensation insurance already in place. In the event of a self-employed individual with no employee, a valid Social Security number may be acceptable.
The Residential Builder Exam itself includes 80 questions covering applicants’ familiarity with a broad range of requisite knowledge on subject matters from foundations to roofing. The exam is open book and administered by PSI Exam Services. A score of 70% or higher is required to receive a passing grade. Familiarity with the International Code Council (ICC) standards is a must, as the state has adopted the ICC standards, leaving variations, which by law must be stricter, to local municipalities.